Friday 2/7/14 “Get Your CLICKS On Route 66”- 24 HOUR CHECKPOINTS &/OR ROVING PATROLS Announced in 8 States Including Missouri.
The 24-hour “Get your Clicks” mobilization now takes place four times a year. The Program began in August 2010 and includes highway patrol, state police, and local law enforcement agencies in eight states along the Route 66 (Interstate 44) corridor.
In MO Route 66 crosses through these Counties: Newton, Jasper, Lawrence, Greene (Springfield), Laclede (Lebanon), Pulaski (Rolla), Phelps (Cuba), Crawford (Sullivan), Franklin (St. Clair), St Louis County, St. Louis City.
Check Your Insurance Card Dates, Verify Your Registration Is In Your Car, Verify Compliance With Child SB Weights!! Think Ahead, Save Money!
FYI: MO SEATBELT LAWS:
Section 307.178 of the Revised Missouri Statutes requires:
- Everyone riding in the front seat in automobiles and trucks with a licensed gross weight of less than 12,000 pounds must wear a seat belt.
- Children ages eight through 15 must wear seat belts regardless of the type of vehicle in which they are riding or where they are seated (front or back). Like the child restraint law, this is a primary law, meaning you can be pulled over for noncompliance.
- Persons less than 18 years of age operating or riding in trucks (regardless of gross weight for which licensed) must wear seat belts.
- No person under age 18 is allowed to ride in the unenclosed bed of a truck with a licensed gross weight of less than 12,000 pounds on lettered highways, federal and state maintained highways, and within city limits. There are exemptions for agricultural purposes, special events, and parades.
- It is the driver’s responsibility to ensure passengers under the age of 16 are buckled up safely. Those 16 and over are responsible for themselves.
- Violators may be subject to a fine and court costs for not properly using seat belts.
Section 307.179 of the Revised Missouri Statutes requires:
- Children less than four years old, regardless of weight, use an appropriate child passenger restraint system.
- Children weighing less than 40 pounds, regardless of age, to be secured in a child passenger restraint system appropriate for the child.
- Children (ages 4-7) who weigh at least 40 pounds, but less than 80 pounds, and are less than 4’9’’ tall, must be secured in a child passenger restraint system or a booster seat appropriate for that child.
- Children who are at least 80 pounds or children taller than 4’9’’ tall must be secured by a vehicle safety belt or booster seat appropriate for that child.